psalm 39

For the director of music. For Jeduthun. A psalm of David.
1I said, “I will watch my ways


and keep my tongue from sin;
I will put a muzzle on my mouth
while in the presence of the wicked.”
2So I remained utterly silent,
not even saying anything good.
But my anguish increased;
3my heart grew hot within me.
While I meditated, the fire burned;
then I spoke with my tongue:
4“Show me, Lord, my life’s end
and the number of my days;
let me know how fleeting my life is.
5You have made my days a mere handbreadth;
the span of my years is as nothing before you.
Everyone is but a breath,
even those who seem secure

Leave a Reply

